Are Pringles Gluten Free

Are pringles gluten free?

Pringles are one of the world’s most famous potato chips, but if they are gluten-free, it is not indicated on the labels of this product. How can those who follow a gluten-free diet know for sure if they are gluten-free? This is important information for such people because gluten can be hidden in the most unexpected places and even something as simple as potato chips must be thoroughly to determine if it is safe for their consumption. So are Pringles gluten-free? What is gluten? and why do some people only eat gluten-free foods? You will find answers to all these questions and many more as you continue to read this article.


Pringles are potato chips that come in a variety of flavors and are known mostly for their ability to be stacked one on top of another. It is one of the famous products produced by Kellogg’s manufacturing company, which also manufactures other products such as breakfast cereals, crackers, and even veggie burgers.

The potato chips are packaged in a signature long tube-like container that has a little picture of a mustached man’s face on the front. The Pringles are available in different flavors including original, salt and vinegar, sour cream and onion, cheddar cheese, ranch dressing, barbecue, hot and spicy, and loaded baked potato. In overall, pringles has 25 different flavors in the U.S. and even more internationally. 


Gluten is a protein that serves as a glue that holds wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together, so they can maintain their shape. They are mostly found in whole grains, but can also be found in processed foods. Many processed foods are not gluten-free as they may contain gluten in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or as additives. Some processed foods may contain gluten as a result of a manufacturing error, that is the equipment that has been used may contain gluten residue from a previous product that was produced. Remember, gluten can hide in the most unlikely places.


Are Pringles Gluten Free

Pringles are not labeled gluten-free, however, they are not gluten-free, and are not recommended for anyone sensitive to gluten. This is because almost all flavors used in making potato chips are made with wheat starch.

Although the FDA permits wheat starch in food products labeled gluten-free if the wheat starch is specially processed to remove gluten to below 20 ppm, Pringles is not explicitly labeled gluten-free because the wheat starch used in production is not removed below 20 ppm.

So if you are a Pringles lover but should avoid gluten, then you probably want to consider other chip options in the market as Pringles are not gluten-free.


Being a potato chip, about 42% of the product is made of potatoes, the remainder being wheat starch, and flour combined with vegetable oil, an emulsifier, salt, and seasoning. Other ingredients that make up the product may vary by the different flavors there are, however, these are the ingredients in the original flavor of Pringles, and also the base recipe for the other flavors:

  • Sweeteners such as maltodextrin and dextrose
  • Monosodium glutamate (MSG)
  • Disodium inosinate
  • Disodium guanylate
  • Sodium caseinate
  • Modified food starch
  • Autolyzed yeast extract
  • Wheat flour
  • Malted barley flour
  • Mono- and diglycerides
  • Artificial and natural flavorings

Depending on the flavor, there could be dried black beans, wheat bran, sour cream, cheddar cheese, etc.


Considering the original flavor of Pringles and a serving size of about 16 Pringles crisps, here is what the nutritional profile of Pringles looks like.

  • Calories: 150

Calories from fat: 90

  • Total fat: 9g
  • Saturated fat: 2.5g
  • Cholesterol: 0mg
  • Sodium: 150mg
  • Total carbohydrate: 15g
  • Dietary fat: 1g
  • Sugars: 0g
  • Potassium: 110mg
  • Proteins: 1g
  • Vitamin A: 0% of DV
  • Vitamin C: 6% of DV
  • Calcium: 0% of DV
  • Iron: 0% of DV


For a certain category of people, eating anything containing gluten can be harmful. Such people include people with:

1. Celiac Disease: This is an immune reaction caused in the small intestine because of the consumption of gluten. Over time, this reaction leads to inflammation that damages the lining of the small intestine also leading to malabsorption of some nutrients.

2. Gluten Intolerance: This category of people are non-celiac gluten sensitive. That is they do not have celiac disease, but their gastrointestinal system still reacts to gluten due to the body’s inability to break down the gluten found in the food they eat.

3. Wheat Allergy: Gluten is naturally found in whole grains, and wheat is an example of a whole grain. A wheat allergy, though not to all grains or gluten itself, may trigger you to decide to avoid gluten completely.

4. Gluten Ataxia: This is a rare neurological autoimmune disorder in which your body’s antibodies, with celiac disease or another type of gluten sensitivity, cause an attack on parts of your brain in response to ingestion of gluten.

If you suspect you may be sensitive to gluten, speak with our doctor. A blood test may be carried out to determine if you have celiac disease or a wheat allergy. Some people cut out gluten from their diet because they believe doing so will help them in their weight loss journey. But before cutting out gluten from your diet, whatever the reason might be, work with a registered dietician to help build a meal plan that is right for you.


If you are a potato chip lover, but gluten sensitive, there are many options for gluten-free potato chips on the market. Here is a list of different gluten-free potato chip brands that you could try:

1. CAPE COD: The company that makes these chips does so with completely gluten-free ingredients. Ingredients include potatoes, vegetable oil, and salt. The salted potato chips are labeled “gluten-free” signifying that they meet the U.S. Food & Drug Administration’s standard of fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten.

2. KETTLE BRAND: Kettle brand chips are made with whole potatoes that are sliced thick, with safflower and/or sunflower and/or canola oil, and sea salt, without any artificial colors, flavors, or preservatives. All Kettle brand potato chips are made with Non-GMO Project Verified Ingredients, certified to be gluten-free by the GFCO, and also BPA-free. They are processed in a gluten-free environment, according to the company’s gluten statement.

3. ONE POTATO TWO POTATO: These chips are available in 8 different flavors, including Hawaiian BBQ and Mexicali Salsa, all of which are certified gluten-free by the GFCO, indicating that they contain less than 10 parts per million of gluten.

4. POPCHIPS: As opposed to baking or frying, the company pops its potato chips, which makes the oil content much lower than regular potato chips. According to the company, some of the chips contain dairy ingredients, but none contain soy, and all their chips are certified gluten-free.

The company also offers different products, such as:

  • Barbecue
  • Sea salt
  • Perfectly salted corn chips
  • Sea salt potato chips
  • Aged white cheddar potato chips
  • Crazy hot potato chips
  • Peanut butter puffs
  • Cajun honey
  • Chili cheese corn chips

5. UTZ: Utz Honey Barbeque Potato chips create a perfect blend between the sweet flavor of honey and a classic barbeque seasoning, giving you that finger-licking sensation. It is made with fresh whole potatoes sliced thin, cottonseed oil, salt, sugar, dextrose, torula yeast, dehydrated onion, spices, tomato powder, molasses powder, brown sugar, honey powder, extractive of paprika, fructose, garlic powder, citric acid, and natural flavors. 

It is gluten-free, trans-fat-free, has no cholesterol, and has no hydrogenated fats. The product is certified by Kosher OU to be gluten-free. Utz brand of snack chips maintains a list of products that meets the FDA’s gluten-free standard, however, check the list before trying out any particular product especially if you are sensitive to trace gluten, as some problems with Utz products have been reported.

6. UGLIES: The company makes its kettle cooked potato chips available in four different flavors: Sea salt, Barbeque, Jalapeno, and Salt and vinegar. These chips are made from potatoes with minor cosmetic imperfection, and are turned into UGLIES Kettle Chips, saving over 3.4 million pounds of potatoes from becoming food waste. So expect brown edges, spots, and darker overall color when eating them. Yet they remain deliciously crunchy gluten-free, as certified by Kosher.

7. FRITO-LAY BRAND: Frito-Lay investigates all of its products for gluten and reports the following products to contain less than 20 parts million of gluten: Lays, Ruffles, and Stax potato chips. Any of these brands offer great gluten-free potato chips, so instead of pringles, you could try any of them.


Almost all the ingredients used in making Pringles are from wheat flour, and wheat naturally contains gluten, hence, Pringles are not gluten-free, and are not recommended for people with celiac disease or those who are gluten intolerant. If you are sensitive to gluten, you might want to consider other options of potato chips that are gluten-free. Again, if an individual is intolerant of potatoes, the person might want to try other gluten free chips.

error: Content is protected !!