Is Parmesan cheese gluten free?
Gluten is simply a family of protein which is commonly found in grains. Parmesan cheese is free from gluten and is recommended for consumption. In gluten they are two main proteins which are glutenin and gliadin. Gliadin is the author of adverse effects of gluten. If you seen a dough before you will know how wet and sticky it is.
Gluten is the glue that holds the flour mix together, the glue of the wet dough with gives it stretchy nature. The following foods are high in gluten content; bread, pasta, cereals, wheat, beer, pastries and other processed foods.
Gluten can cause health problems like celiac disease which is an auto-immune disorder where the body attacks the gluten because it sees it as a foreign body and attacks the gut as well which makes the gut compromised.
An irritable bowel symptom is also caused by gluten where digestive system causes you to be uncomfortable because of cramping, abdominal pain, diarrhea or constipation. Gluten not only being unhealthy can cause dome terrible health challenges.
WHAT KIND OF DIARY PRODUCT IS CHEESE?
Cheese is a diary product. A lot of you really might not have been aware of these but cheese is gotten from the congealing of milk protein casein. It’s usually from the milk of cows, goats and buffalos. It’s rich in protein, calcium, and phosphorus and fat and its texture depends on the origin of the milk.
Other spices or fruits could be added to improve its color and enhance taste. Cheese has a long shelf life in comparison to milk. Hard cheeses last longer that soft cheeses and an example of a hard cheese is the Parmesan cheese. Cheese is used in cooking meals like pasta, pizza, burger and other pastry.
IS PARMESAN CHEESE GLUTEN FREE
In attempt to answer the question “Is Parmesan cheese gluten free”, It is important to note that parmesan cheese is an original Italian cheese that’s made from unpasteurized cow’s milk that has stayed for at least twelve months. To be precise cow’s milk that has been cured for over 10months or more and contains no more than thirty two percent of water and not less than thirty two percent of milk fats in its solids.
They usually have a pale yellow color. The only additive is salt. Originally parmesan cheese has a precise fruity and nutty taste with a spicy flavor with rough texture. Compromised versions of it can possibly have a bitter taste.
Parmesan cheese has high quantities of glutamate contained in it which explains why it has a distinct spicy taste. It’s also rich in minerals, essential vitamins, fats, carbohydrates and energy makes it healthy and suitable for consumption.
It’s a common ingredient for pizza and its being said by several manufacturers that several pizza chains makes use of it. It’s used in cooking or can be served to be snacked upon like that. It’s used mostly in pasta dishes, soups or shredded over salads. At high temperature even though it may be a hard cheese it’s still melts.
PARMESAN CHEESE INGREDIENT
In production of parmesan cheese the major ingredients are unpasteurized milk which is cooked with starter whey which is just a mixture of a certain lactic acid bacteria. Cow’s milk used are only grass or hay fed cows so the milk is totally pure from any gluten content and natural whey culture is the only approved starter together with calf rennet which is a set of complex enzymes produced by ruminant mammals stomach which curdles casein in milk.
They only additive which is salt is absorbed during the submerging process in brine tanks which only enhances the taste but doesn’t compromise its integrity.
SPECIFIC INGREDIENT OF PARMESAN CHEESE
In discussing on the topic “Is Parmesan cheese gluten free”, we need to first of all understand the ingredient contain in parmesan cheese.
A serving of parmesan cheese contains 392 calories, 3.2g of carbohydrates, 25.8g of fat and 35.75g of protein. So it is totally healthy for consumption and gluten free. Parmesan cheese contains no gluten and is a healthy cheese that people who are looking to feed healthy which is advised and recommended for everyone .
Parmesan cheese is gluten free and has a high quality taste that pleases the taste buds and is packed with calories and vitamins. At the beginning of this article we talked generously about gluten and gluten is gotten mostly from certain grains and parmesan only ingredients do not include any of these grains at all.
Even at production sites where parmesan cheeses are mass produced most of the factories producing it work primarily with just parmesan cheese so the issue of gluten cross contamination is minimal.
Cheeses that have undergone additional processing like cheese spreads are slices are those that are always likely to contain gluten. Cheeses that are naturally produced from milk without additional refining have no additives added to it so they are free from gluten and are healthy.
Looking for a healthy brand of cheese to incorporate into your meals you should go for parmesan cheese as it’s naturally produced and it’s healthy for one and does not contain gluten. Parmesan cheese is gluten free.
In this article titled “Is Parmesan cheese gluten free”, we have looked at parmesan cheese, its ingredients, health benefits and its free from gluten. This article is recommen for all.